Home Sick? Missing favourite food?

As an expat abroad, most of us miss our families and friends that we left back home. But the one other thing that we all miss in unity is FOOD! To me, Malaysia is a food haven, melting- pot for Asian cuisine and so on. All the Malaysians I know here are always craving to get back to the food we miss and make a list as to what food supplies we need to bring back.

Occasionally we are able to get Malaysian food here but it’s exorbitant prices quoted for pathetic quantity that drives me nuts unless you have a massive craving that you can’t get over with.

When I was back home, I use to take most of the food for granted; that it is always available in abundance and that too at a very reasonable price. After coming here, I realize that if I want to eat something back from Malaysia such as satay, ketupat, roti jala, chicken rice, wanton noodles, nasi kandar, char kway teow, kuih-muih et cetera (big sighs) I have to learn it from an expert, browse the net and cook it myself!

So, you can imagine how heavy our luggage become upon returning to the desert shores with all the food supplies from Malaysia. During my last trip back I learnt how to make some things closer to home and I can say that after three and half years of living in the UAE, my culinary skills have improved tremendously and owing a special thanks to my husband who is my guinea pig!

Now I am a much happier person as I can proudly say that I can make some of the missed Malaysian dishes and enjoy it larger quantities in my own comfort space. To the rest of you Malaysians back home, enjoy your food to the max. Follow Julia Roberts in the “Eat” part of her movie and learn how to appreciate the food you get and never take it for granted.

About Priya Manikam

Im just a simple person who suddenly feels like blogging! Im currently living a million miles away from home and is very passionate about writing, travelling and food/cooking all the works...
This entry was posted in Making of Puran Poli. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

