A world of darkness…

When I opened the refrigerator this morning and to find that the light inside was not lit made me puzzled. I then saw that my modem lights were not blinking and none of the other appliances worked. It then dawned on me that there was no electricity! 

We live in a world where water and electricity comes in a tap of a button and it never occurs to you that one day there won’t be enough water to last a few generations or that there could be long electricity breakdowns like how some third world countries experiences as part of their life.

When there is an electricity breakdown, your world  comes apart for a while at least. Lucky for me it’s still winter so the issue of not having your air-conditioning work is out of the question. But when you need to access the internet or charge your mobile or watch a particular show or when you need to cook rice in an electric cooker…you suddenly realise how important this electricity is in your life.

Mankind has come a long way since the primitive times so when you are used to having done things in a certain way, you just take it for granted. I then start to think that the bedouins in this country do not have any refrigerator or the internet or the television etc.. and that they live in the cold, harsh desert and have learned to store food in much cleverer ways that probably you and I can never think of. They lead such simple lives that you can’t help but admire how they survive in this world when we are fast catching up with modernisation. They do not care what is happening around them as long as there is enough energy to survive each and every day.

After an hour, the maintenance guy of the building came and it turns out that a flat above us had some repair works and the electricity needed to be switched off for a moment (about one hour in our case). Lives were restored back to normal, I could cook my rice in the cooker and not on the stove as planned or rather I had no choice. The net was back in a jiffy and my fridge came back to life!

I do not think I can ever live like the bedouins as I love my electricity too much and how it makes my appliances work for me and having fake light whenever I desire.

About Priya Manikam

Im just a simple person who suddenly feels like blogging! Im currently living a million miles away from home and is very passionate about writing, travelling and food/cooking all the works...
This entry was posted in Making of Puran Poli. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

