Some customer service please!

UAE is a multi-nationality country and you expect people especially the ones in the service sector to be friendly. Unfortunately this is not the case most of the time. In particular, the salespersons or cashiers manning these shops are from a particular nationality and I have encountered several  unfortunate incidents with them.

Once I was buying my monthly grocery at a prominent supermarket and the cashier serving me was yawning away. To begin with, most of them never greets or smiles. This “yawning” cashier literally closed her eyes at one point and once it came to the end she handed me the receipt and I realised that she missed out billing one item. I was really irritated with her and told her a packet of peanuts was not billed and the last thing I wanted was to set off the alarms over a bunch of nuts! I was angry with this kind of service and made a complaint.

Similarly, when I wanted to buy some food at this same place, the staff behind-the-counter literally ignored me and I was so angry and said that if you are not interested to work here just go home and don’t waste my time! The lack of service does not stop there, as two days ago, I wanted to buy some wrapping papers and it costed DH5, so I handed DH10 and the cashier was busy looking inside her blouse and I stared at her asking what about my DH5 change! They do not even care to apologise. I think to myself, everyone came here for a living so why do people like this bother leaving their homelands and not do their job!

Despite some setbacks, I have encountered some really nice people in the service sector, namely the local police, taxi inspectors, immigration and my two favourite cashiers at the money exchange. As for the rest of them out there; some customer service please!

About Priya Manikam

Im just a simple person who suddenly feels like blogging! Im currently living a million miles away from home and is very passionate about writing, travelling and food/cooking all the works...
This entry was posted in Making of Puran Poli. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

