Social Networking sites… a boon or a pain?

“Off to the mall in 10 minutes, XYZ meet me at Zara…” (about a minute ago via Mobile Web). “Today I had the worst day of my life”! (one hour ago). “Yippee! I’m boarding the flt soon… adios peeps see u all in 2 weeks time” LOL! (one second ago). Does the lingo sound familiar?

The list is endless and it goes on for every second, minutes and hours. You are considered not to be in the savvy group if you are not part of the ever-fast catching trends of social networks. Be it young or old, practically everyone I know is in some kind of a network. Hey, I admit I am one of those guilty ones who have to sign in everyday or maybe twice or thrice daily to update status, chat or send messages etc but in my defense, I live million miles away from home and I find it as the best way to catch up with friends and family and re-connect with people whom I have lost touch. The media is also not left behind in this trend that it has become almost compulsory to advertise in social networks where it reaches to the people faster.

However, given it pros there are also some setbacks to it. To name a few; ID theft, abuse of location application, stealing of photos, unwanted comments, unnecessary tagging can get annoying. The lack of security is one of a cause of this invasion of privacy but you can protect yourself by not revealing too much information and be careful who you are adding in your network list. One can also adjust the settings, customize as to whom can gain access to your comments and pictures and when all fails, just block those who are not worthy of your friendship!

A boon or a pain you decide as I think social networks are here to stay. I got to go now and update, oops I mean read a book 🙂

About Priya Manikam

Im just a simple person who suddenly feels like blogging! Im currently living a million miles away from home and is very passionate about writing, travelling and food/cooking all the works...
This entry was posted in Making of Puran Poli. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

